President Trump announced that all travel from Europe* to America will be suspended for 30 days. The restrictions will not apply to the United Kingdom. *The so-called border-free Schengen area: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland. The measure will take effect Friday, March 13, at midnight.

The rule does not apply to U.S. citizens and their immediate relatives/family members. It also does not apply to permanent residents of the U.S. They will be subject to screening at Port of Entry and if necessary to mandatary quarantine or heightened monitoring for 14 days after arrival.

Edit: The U.K. (excl. overseas territories outside of Europe) and Ireland were also included in the travel ban. On May 24 the ban was once more amended, this time to Brazil.